Recent Searches
Clear

Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui

star-4.557 Reviews
|
Haiku-Pauwela, United States
Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Embark on an adventure to the Kings Gardens trail in Maui and enjoy a private hike through the lush jungles. See the first waterfall on the way to Hana, observe ancient flora including dinosaur ferns and towering Hawaiian trees, and see ancient ruins. A chocolate tour is also included where you can learn about the chocolate-making process, sample chocolates from all over the world, and make your own sweet treat.
  • Take a hike through the Kings Gardens in Maui
  • See jungle plants, visit a waterfall, and explore ruins
  • A chocolate tour with tastings and lunch are included
  • Receive undivided attention from your private guide
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
4320 Hana Hwy , 4320 Hana Hwy, Haiku, HI 96708, USA
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children under 4 Should be to Be in A Hefty Back Pack and Best If They are Use to Going On Hikes.
  • Early Term Pregnancy is Ok, This is a Medium Hike. Later Term Pregnancy not advisable.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY The Kings Gardens Maui
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    See all safety measures taken by Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    See all safety measures taken by Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "As a mom who loves and appreciates nature so much, I should have booked just for myself since it’s an extremely pricey two hour tour." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    57 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews
    star-2
    Not worth it
    Gabriela_P
    , Oct 2021
    Our guide was nice but it wasn’t much of a hike but a stroll. You only get to look at the waterfall and not swim in it which is misleading. They basically force you to tip. They say “most people tip $25 per person”. Which I think is absurd. If you want a tip real badly just include it in the price. They text you reminders of the tip and expected amount as well as call it out at the end of it.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
    Aloha Sorry we do not have any record of your visit you must be a competitor as over 98% of people absolutely love visiting this amazing ancient heritage site with breathtaking rainforest adventure.
    star-5
    Our guide was very...
    Russell_H
    , Sep 2021
    Our guide was very informative and made things interesting. He showed us some beautiful waterfalls. The chocolate was delicious. We recommend it highly.
    star-5
    A lovely stroll in the jungle!
    Andy
    , Aug 2021
    We loved this! Very relaxing, low key, small group activity that is different from the other tours we’ve had in Hawaii. I would highly recommend this if you are tired of the crowds and rushed pace that are typical of the bus tours here. I love being in the woods/forest/jungle type areas, and this certainly qualifies. This was not a strenuous hike but instead was a lively stroll with a knowledgeable guide. We learned about the plants and trees along the way, as well as a bit about Hawaii’s past. We also learned about chocolate, and tasted some different types after a demonstration of how typical chocolate is made. Kana, our guide, was easy going, knowledgeable, friendly, and had a good sense of humor. He clearly enjoys what he’s doing, and was able to answer any questions that came up along the walk.
    star-3
    OK walk, not an adventure
    Kolohe
    , Aug 2021
    A nice walk through the jungle but not really a hike. An education on chocolate. Not really the adventure we were looking for but still a nice experience.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    We do not have a record of your visit, we feel that this not in fact a true review. May your day be safe.
    star-2
    Not worth it
    Ramandeep_S
    , Aug 2021
    The experience was not as advertised. Too overpriced for the experience . Very little hiking and a peekaboo view of a waterfall . That’s it!
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    Kind sir, sorry that you did not enjoy visiting our location most people love it as their motive is to give to a good cause first and foremost, those who are looking for a touristy kind of a adventure do not see or feel the beautiful mana that is coming from the culturally rich heritage area. Those that enjoy this location find that its not just a walk but walking in the footsteps of the ancient who lived here for thousands of years, they love the fact that they are giving to a good cause & it makes their heart happy. If one is not vested in helping a good cause and finds value in learning about and seeing a ancient historical heritage site and learning about how it is so very significant to our Hawaiian cultural site then they will have missed the magic of the location. Have a nice day and if we can make this up to you in any way let us know simply contact us. Be well, Hope
    star-5
    Great afternoon in Maui rain forest
    Irina_L
    , Jul 2021
    The tour was well put together and the garden is absolutely stunning! Enjoyed the history and the introduction to flora we saw during the tour. Chocolate tasting was a nice way to end the experience!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
    Aloha Irina, Thank you so so much as its amazingly wonderful folks like you who help us do greater good at the gardens and in our community. Thank you for your kind words and visiting as it helps us to also not only raise the needed funds to put gardens into conservation and protection but also to help feed over 60 of our homeless population each week. Have a amazingly wonderful rest of the day, Hope
    star-2
    2 Hours of Botany- not a hike
    Ecc
    , Jul 2021
    The tour guide was a super nice guy but this was not really a hike and the waterfall was in the distance. He spent 2 hours mostly talking about a handful of plants (several are common house plants) related to a disjointed Hawaiin history with 80% of it about the taro plant (Hawaiin potato). We only walked about .4 miles in a small circle and stopped every 10 feet to talk about a plant. We felt it was extremely boring. We did not make chocolate. We tried a few store bought chocolates squares and tried one piece of chocolate that he made which was terrible. Learning about chocolate production was interesting. However, I was also put off by a text where they told you to tip $50 for two people and $100 for 4 people. I would not recommend this trip unless you love botany and don't actually want to hike.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    We do not have a record of your visit, we feel that this not in fact a true review. May your day be safe.
    3 travelers found this review helpful
    star-5
    Cocoa coco waterfall hike
    Angela_S
    , Jul 2021
    Kana was very welcoming and thorough. He made sure to include everyone in the tour for a great experience. He showed us all amazing view of hawaii which you would normally not see from a tourist perspective. Amazing views Of the Hawaiian jungle and history honoring the islands amazing culture. Wish there was a closer view of the water fall for anyone thinking you will get to it. It’s just a view from afar from The chocolate camp, where you can sit and trial all the chocolates out there. And learn and try cacao right from the pods. Wear comfortable hiking clothes and bring plenty of bug spray!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Magic
    Rosa_T
    , Jul 2021
    Our guide Kana is amazing. It’s a beautiful place. The nature in there is wonderful and magic.❤️ It was more that I was expecting.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Funny and educational experience
    Addison_L
    , Jul 2021
    Amazing tour. So much history given by Kana with a nice blend of humor mixed in. Both my wife and I, really enjoyed the slow pace and his extensive knowledge of the area and culture

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui
    Private Waterfall and Rainforest Hike in Maui

    star-4.557

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $128.98

    star-5386

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $165.60

    star-5138

    1 hour 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $75.00

    star-547

    3 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $299.00

    star-446

    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $69.95

    star-4.515

    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $187.00

    star-529

    9 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $338.87

    star-5128

    10 hours 10 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $210.00

    Explore Similar Things to Do