Recent Searches
Clear

Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour

star-4.548 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New York, United States
Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

New York City’s Harlem neighborhood is a must-see area of the city. Pack in a walking tour, gospel service, and brunch all into one day and save time planning individual activities. Walk through the heart of the Mount Morris Historic District; see the storied historic theater; and then attend a local gospel service to clap and sing along to classic Harlem melodies. Finish your tour with brunch at a local restaurant.
  • Get an in-depth tour of New York City's Harlem neighborhood
  • A perfect introduction for first-time visitors—you’ll even attend a gospel service
  • Enjoy brunch at a neighborhood restaurant
  • An easy-to-find meeting spot at the Apollo Theater
Saved to wishlist!
Brunch
Professional guide
Live entertainment
Gratuities
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Apollo Theater , 253 W 125th St, New York, NY 10027, USA
9:00 AM
Harlem , Harlem, New York, NY, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Proper dress is required to attend the church service: no shorts or tank tops will be accepted
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Welcome to Harlem
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
48 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews
star-5
A really good experience
Susan_H
, Jul 2022
Excellent guided walking tour of Harlem by a knowledgeable and fun guide. Then a visit to a neighbourhood church where there was fabulous singing and an uplifting sermon. Finally a super brunch in a local restaurant.
star-5
A great day to remember.
Nancy_E
, May 2022
We all really enjoyed out tour leaders Caroline and Jonathan.. they were so knowledgeable and answered our questions plus they were fun. I sure gave me a very different idea and perception 0f what Harlem was like. Often movies give a -laa different and sometime bad idea 0f an area. I would certainly choose to live in the part of Harlem that we saw over the busy, loud Manhattan. The restaurant was excellent. Quiet, so we could really enjoy each others company and good food.
star-5
Harlem Gospel Brunch Tour
Karen_C
, Dec 2021
Learning the history of Harlem & seeing where it began is valuable! It's a tremendous educational experience!
star-4
Bucket list- visit to Harlem NY
Leslye_A
, Oct 2021
I enjoyed walking thru the park where Summer of Soul was filmed. I loved the vendors selling vintage books. I am excited that a Contemporary African American Art Museum is under construction and a large hotel. I loved being able to see the Empire State Building from Harlem. I wish the brunch offered Soul Food, but it didn’t.
star-5
Excellent tour!
Andre_H
, Jul 2021
Great tour. Excellent and knowledgeable guide. Carolyn was a gem. She lives in Harlem and knows all about it.
star-5
Excellent
Lolo
, Jun 2021
Carolyn was a wonderful and knowledgeable host. It was clear from touring with her that she is a born & bred local and can’t say enough about the very moving Gospel experience itself. One word: Wow. Maybe three: Wow & So Powerful!!
star-5
Learn more about city history
leah_h
, Jun 2021
What a marvelous way to see Harlem. We had a great morning and learned so much about Harlem - the beautiful buildings, the history, the culture. We would highly recommend this tour and encourage everyone to go and see Harlem and experience the neighborhood. We had perfect weather and the church and singing was perfect. It was everything we expected and more...
star-5
Building and bonding over the culture of Harlem
Loretta_F
, May 2021
I would say for me the most memorable experience was all of it. The church service was the highlight of my day, because when have been without a indoor church service for 16months. The tour guide Ms. Carolyn was knowledgeable, kind and inclusive. She really knows and understands Harlem- she made everyone feel comfortable. Our group was small, but very loving and connected. This was a nice tour. She even took us to different stores in the community so that we could shop. 5 stars for sure!!!
star-5
Harlem Tour - Diamond in the rough
DonW6BOWinSFCA
, Dec 2019
Carolyn, our guide (and "diamond in the rough") lead us on a tour of Harlem past, of Harlem present, and of Harlem future with care, diplomacy, multi-cultural sensitivity, plus the unique knowledge and insight, that only a true "local" is capable of providing. A must activity for anyone interested in the history of New York not to mention that of the USA. You can't have one without the other.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Harlem tour
Elizabeth A
, Sep 2019
Great tour of Harlem. Tour guide very informative. The brunch was delicious. The reason for the 3 stars is the church service. Very disappointing. Once they finally got to the sermon it was time for us to leave.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great tour
Karen_A
, Jul 2019
Great tour. The tour guide Carolyn was engaging, personable and very knowledgeable. We learned a lot about the city of Harlem. The food was very good . We ate at a Turkish Mediterranean restaurant. You will actually attend a church service which was enjoyable but, long(hour and a half). I did not understand why it was apart of the tour and how it tide in Harlem’s history. We gave money when asked and left. Overall, great tour. I recommend you do a simple Harlem tour without the gospel brunch.
star-5
Inspiring morning
Paul_L
, Jul 2019
Carolyn was a wonderful guide!! Learned so much and the gospel experience was so uplifting. Harlem is a beautiful place!!
star-5
Great exploration into Harlem
Ccile_T
, Jun 2019
Lots of history and facts about past and present Harlem. A very personal tour. Learned a huge amount.
star-3
Not authentic
Jennifer K
, Jun 2019
I had the feeling that the gospel portion of the tour was very staged. It didn't make me feel anything. But most disappointing with the brunch. I was expecting soul food. It was just a little restaurant with no other customers that served pancakes and French toast.
star-5
Sisterhood
405eileenc
, Oct 2018
Most interesting, enjoyable experience. Would do it again. Our guide was very knowledgeable, church service was great, food was 👍🏽
star-5
A Tour On My Bucket List
Dorothy_T
, Aug 2018
The Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour has been on my bucket list every time I have been to NYC. It was better than what I had anticipated. Carolyn, our guide, was so wonderful. She was humorous, informative and sometimes pointed about her neighborhood, but it was honest and appreciated. The choir was fantastic and modern. The brunch was delicious. Thank you Carolyn for making the tour the BEST!
star-5
This is a must not only for tourist...
Arnulfo P
, Jun 2018
This is a must not only for tourist visiting NY but also for locals like and my wife. Our tour was guided by a person with a deep knowledge of the Harlem architecture, history, important people, changing markets, the Harlem evolution food and religion. A very interesting tour. She answered all questions and was very pleasant. Thank you Carolyn you are an A tourist guide.
star-5
This tour was amazing!!! I learned...
Lori S
, Jul 2017
This tour was amazing!!! I learned so many little known facts about Harlem and the tour guide was very informative!
star-2
Disappointing, it was so contrived...
SandraE_G
, Jan 2017
Disappointing, it was so contrived. The 'choir' had clearly not practiced their songs which were mostly carols, not gospel songs. Then they asked 'the bus people ' to leave... about 4 groups filed out I presume so that they could have their service alone. We were then taken to a taco restaurant which was not exactly was expected as it was offered as a local meal in Harlem.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2017
TOUR SUPPLIER COMMENT: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear this experience has left you disappointed. Please note, the church service plans and sings their own songs independently of the tour or our company. What they chose to sing is planned by the church itself. We only plan to stay at the church from 11am - 12pm, however, our guests can choose to stay for the complete service which is two hours. Additionally, the selected restaurant is also unaffiliated with our company. Harlem does not have a specific cuisine to try, so the selection was made as a tasty, local, option that we found enjoyable for our guests. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed, but hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your time in New York.
star-5
On a sunny Sunday morning we joined...
Donal M
, Nov 2016
On a sunny Sunday morning we joined our delightful and engaging tour guide Carolyn for a leisurely walking tour of Harlem. Being a local and living in the area she was able to give us an interesting insight into the rich history and recent development of Harlem and expertly pointed out the architectural features of significant buildings as well as wave and chat to her friends and neighbours along the way. We passed the famous Apollo theatre, strolled through beautiful tree lined streets flanked by the traditional Harlem Brownstone houses and we were warmly welcomed by the congregation of a local Baptist church where we were able to join in the uplifting and very moving singing of the gospel choir. The tour concluded with Carolyn hosting a delicious brunch in a local restaurant where she continued to entertain us with stories of Harlem past and present. A most enjoyable small group tour highly recommended for all.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour
Harlem Gospel and Brunch Tour

star-4.548

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.45

star-4.534

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.60

star-59

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.00

star-540

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$158.80

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.27

star-4377

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.00

star-517

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.80

star-52

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.32

star-4.517

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.32
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations