Recent Searches
Clear

Shark Cage Diving In Oahu

star-4.5536 Reviews
|
Haleiwa, United States
Shark Cage Diving In Oahu
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 3 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience the thrill of meeting sharks face-to-face in the pristine waters of Oahu on this educational, 2-hour, cage-diving adventure. See Hawaii's majestic hunters — Galapagos and Sandbar sharks in their natural environment — surrounded by the deep blue of the Big Island’s popular North Shore. Observe from the safety of a floating cage. Stay on the surface, then using a mask and snorkel, look through large polyglass windows to watch the sharks as they gracefully glide by. No scuba experience is necessary. Hotel pickup and drop-off available.
  • Get up close with sharks from a cage
  • Explore the North Shore’s beautiful blue waters
  • Learn fascinating facts about shark biology and behavior
  • No previous scuba-diving experience is necessary
Saved to wishlist!
Expert crew
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Local taxes
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Towels, swimwear, suntan lotion
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Hale‘iwa Boat Harbor, Haleiwa, HI 96712, USA

Address: Hawaii Shark Encounters 66-105 Haleiwa Rd. Haleiwa, HI 96712

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age 5yr old
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Hawaii Shark Encounters Inc
You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It’s really bumpy and I wouldn’t recommend doing it if you get seasick easily." See review
  • "Go on first trip of the day - it’s the best." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
536 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 536 reviews
star-1
WORST TOUR COMPANY! STEER CLEAR!!
Reid_D
, Dec 2021
STAY AWAY From the tour company “Shark Experience” worst tour operators I have EVER worked with - hands down. Save yourself the time, money and frustration - not worth it! Had a 7:00 AM shark cage tour. 8 of us - there were 12 total in the group - so our group made up 3/4 of the tour. Most tour companies (the hundreds of others I have had tours with) would be considerate and appreciative of their clients money, and business. Apparently this tour company doesn’t know those basics of running a successful business. We were stuck in Honolulu traffic - of course being a tourist and not a resident - we didn’t know that even leaving at 5:15 AM from Wainae would be pushing our time to get there. I called the Shark Experience company number that I had to tell them that according to our Navigator - our ETA WAS 2 MINUTES LATE - there was nobody there to answer the phone. About 10 minutes later DARRIN WHITTAKER calls my cell phone - in a snarky, rude condescending way told me that he was not going to wait even 1 minute for us and that by waiting two minutes for us- he would have to wait two minutes for everyone else and that it would ruin his tour schedule. I kindly said - I would really appreciate it if you could just wait the 2 minutes for our group - we are nearly there. HE HUNG UP THE PHONE ON ME!! I’ve never been treated so unkindly and rudely by a tour operator in my life. I was shocked at his complete lack of professionalism and common decency. I had the impression from him that he would have enjoyed our non - refundable $1130 and would have happily left us being one minute late. We arrived exactly one minute late - and hurried on the boat to more of his and JENNIFER’S rudeness. We rode out on a super choppy waves - people were getting sick. They put the cage down - we bumped around each other for about 15 minutes - saw a few sharks - but we were so jammed in the cage that it was hard to do much but just keep from smashing into whoever was beside you. We then went back on the same choppy water. More people threw up. Worst tour and biggest waste of money EVER. Hilariously- they pointed out their shark toy for tips!! I literally wanted to laugh out loud. Do yourself a favor - find a professional, mature, non-greedy, pleasant and respectful tour company to go on a shark cage tour with —SHARK EXPERIENCE AND DARRIN WHITTAKER IS NOT THAT COMPANY!!!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Reid, I understand your emotional response. Let's look at the facts. According to our records, you contacted our customer service the day before to confirm your booking, you were told that check-in is at 6:30 am and the boat has to depart promptly at 7am or before. We are not a transportation company are not responsible for you getting to the dock on time. We provide a Shark tour with our boats which are on a schedule, in order to provide integrity to all of our guests we leave on time or before if all of our tour guests have checked in. When was the last time you arrived at the airport at 10:08am for a 10:00am flight? The answer is never! This is why we give our customers a 30 minute buffer between check-in and latest possible departure time, There is also verb-age on our confirmation email as such that clearly informs our guests of the consequence of not arriving on time, along with the 1.5 hour travel time recommendation prior to checkin to ensure that they make the tour.  When the captain, Darrin, called to get an ETA for your party it was 7:03am, 33 minutes late from the tour check-in time. Your group were not the only passengers on that tour. The other 4 customers had been waiting since the 6:30 am check in time for you. If you wish to have the boat at your beck and call, maybe a private charter is more your style, you can show up as late as you wish and use the allotted tour time as it fits your party. Against company protocol, Darren graciously waited for your party. You finally showed up at 7:05 (35 minutes late). The captain informed you that you were late and you needed to board ASAP as the other customers had been on the boat waiting for you. Once the tour started you were informed your tardiness may affect your time in the water in order to maintain our integrity with the schedule. You were given 20 minutes in the cage which is more than some of our competitors. Our sales agreement states that if you are late you are not due any refund. You should be thanking Capt. Darren for saving you your entire tour fee, not complaining about it. You were rude and complained to the captain about it. It was then that your family stated "Well at least he waited for us". Once the tour was over and you went back and disputed the charges for a tour which you should have missed all together as you were 35 minutes late. As stated we are a shark tour company and have completely fulfilled our end of the agreement to provide you with a shark tour, therefore you are not due any amount of refund. Please allow us to offer you a 20% discount on your next tour, if you show up on time you too can enjoy the 5 star experience that 99.9% of our guest enjoy. Thank you for bringing up the point of our crew' attitude, this will be dealt with in the appropriate manner.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience👍 ...
Alexandra_k
, Dec 2021
Great experience👍 We were able to see a ton of sharks as well as dolphins! Would definitely recommend
star-5
We are on our honeymoon...
Don_G
, Nov 2021
We are on our honeymoon and this experience was one of our favorites. There were plenty of large sharks, this is a must.. Mahalo
star-5
A must do while here in Oahu!!!!
Isabel_C
, Nov 2021
It was very informative and a great experience! I recommend everyone try this at least once! One thing, be weary of the people whom jump in cage with because one guy puked during our time in cage and that was a very disgusting situation 🤢
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Aloha Isabel, We are stoked to hear that you found the experience informative and fun! we apologize for the sea sick passenger, unfortunately it is very common on our tours. We always recommend guests, regardless of their boating experience, to take some form of motion sickness medication. Mahalo -Hawaii Shark Encounters-
star-3
Hawaii Family vacation
donna_b
, Nov 2021
Had purchased all 10 tickets for a tour. (Viator said 10 maximum). When we arrived 2 more people were added to this tour.,,no problem for us we love people. However these two hogged the side of the cage and did not share. The captain and mate did nothing to mitigate the problem. I must write the captain and mate were extremely knowledgeable and helpful with our children. Gave us tips and suggestions on remaining safe in the cage and our family enjoyed their company.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Aloha Donna, Mahalo for your feedback, Im happy to hear you enjoyed our crews company. That being said we apologize that the other two passengers didn't share the cage. For a group your size I would recommend booking directly with us next time as we only allow viator to book a maximum of 10. Booking directly you can book as a private charter to save a few dollars. Also wed like to extend an additional 15% off your next dive with reference to this review. Here to hoping we can show you the 5 star experience our customers receive and deserve. Mahalo -Hawaii Shark Encounters-
star-4
The guys were great,...
John_F
, Nov 2021
The guys were great, awesome experience, a must do when visiting Hawaii. I/we can cross this off from our bucket list.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Aloha John, Im happy to hear you enjoyed your dive with us. Also the crew will be happy to know you enjoyed their company. If your ever back in the area and want to relive your bucket list be sure to book with us again so we can give you the 5 star experience we are known for. Mahalo -Hawaii Shark Encounters-
star-5
Two shark fins up; great time and great crew
Rene_C
, Nov 2021
Was able to see a tiger shark extremely up close, which made the whole experience worthwhile. We also saw the smaller sharks too, but the highlight was the tiger shark. This was definitely bucket-list worthy.
star-5
Amazing experience! Great crew!
Brett_W
, Nov 2021
Overall an amazing experience to see sharks up close! We had plenty of time in the water without being rushed.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Learn and experience
Akilah_H
, Nov 2021
Wonderful experience. Given ample time to enjoy and interact with the sharks. Darren and effron were wonderful hosts very informative and accommodating!
star-5
Fun with some big fishies
Courtney_B
, Nov 2021
This was a memorable experience and one of my favorite activities we’ve done in Hawaii. Highly recommended
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Shark Cage Diving In Oahu
Likely to Sell Out
Shark Cage Diving In Oahu

star-4.5535

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-4.51222

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$109.26

star-5168

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$153.85

star-568

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-5111

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.00

star-543

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$235.89

star-4.5163

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.00 $87.20

star-5118

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$153.85

star-450

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$188.00

Explore Similar Things to Do