Recent Searches
Clear

Private Family Whale & Dolphin Adventure

|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Diego, United States
Private Family Whale & Dolphin Adventure

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 6 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Get the best chance of seeing whales and dolphins on a private boat tour. Your party will have the run of the boat, including an enclosed cabin, an observation tower, and a restroom. Your experienced USCG-certified captain knows the best places to spot wildlife and will provide engaging commentary on the local marine ecosystem.
  • Private tour for your family or group only
  • Enclosed cabin for protection from the elements
  • Captain devoted to your party
  • Guided commentary on the local wildlife and ecosystem
Saved to wishlist!
Safety Equipment
Bottled water
**3 Passenger Min for a "Private Charter". (3 adult tickets must be purchased or the $ equivalent)
Less then 3 passengers may have other passengers on board for your excursion (Max 6)
Gratuities
Tailwalker Whale & Dolphin Adventures , 1441 Quivira Rd, San Diego, CA 92109, USA

You have a "VIP/Private Tour". We will personally meet you at "The Market" Cafe located directly behind the Hyatt Mission Bay. (In front of the Commercial Docks)

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Tailwalker Sportfishing / Whale & Dolphin Adventures
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
39 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews
star-5
I touched a dolphin!!!
Holli_M
, Nov 2021
This tour was absolutely phenomenal!! We went on the 9:30 am tour on 11/11/21 and saw so many dolphins. We were allowed to lay down near the front of the boat and have one arm reach down to touch the dolphins as they swam. We also saw some humpback whales and a couple of blue whales. And the sea lion family at the end of the tour were adorable. Would highly recommend and will plan another tour the next time I'm in San Diego.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Holli. Thanks for great review!!! Had so much fun with you guys! Hope to see you out with us again soon!! -Capt Rich
star-5
Dolphins!
Levi_B
, Jul 2021
Excellent service, great way to go whale watching. I recommend Captain Rich, you'll be in great hands If you are prone to motion sickness, or uncomfortable on the water, consider a larger craft.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent dolphin experience
Eric_L
, Jul 2021
We didn't find any whales on this trip but the hundreds of dolphins we found all swimming together more than made up for it! Captain Rich did a great job.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for the great Review Eric! So glad you guys had fun with us! -Capt Rich
star-3
While we did see some...
Carol_L
, Apr 2021
While we did see some dolphins, overall a bit of a disappointment. The owners rescheduled it, due to maintenance issues. The weather wasn't great when we did get to be out on the water the next day, so we had to return to the bay after just an hour. The boat was much smaller than anticipated. Captain Rich was great, though. Friendly, knowledgeable, and focused on safety.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Hi Carol, Yes, Spring weather is always unpredictable. So happy you were able to see Dolphins though in those conditions!! I believe we did convert your trip to an extended bay cruise after. Hope to see out with us again soon! Thanks so much for booking with us! -Capt Rich
star-5
Exhilarating, Magnificent, Cool, Fantastic!!!
Geraldine_S
, Mar 2021
We saw everything we had hoped to see and more.......so many pods of dolphins playing and right up by the boat and under it, gray whales blowing and rolling, sea lions, and a wonderfully exhilarating trip out/back on the powerful boat. There were four of us, and loads of space/viewing area up top and on deck. Excellent for small private groups. Captain Rich was excellent - very knowledgable and chilled out. If not summer time, bring a jacket (pretty chilly when going fast). The only feedback i offer for the benefit of future trippers - the captain/boat operator does not have your contact details, so if there are weather issues that cause delay you won’t know this until you are waiting - we spent over an hour on the dock waiting due to fog out at sea (which was not obvious to a non-mariner/clear skies) had i known, we would have done something else with the early morning. I stress - this did not take from the trip or our appetite to join Captain Rich again to see the Blue Whales in July/August.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great trip to see dolphins and whales
Anthony_G
, Aug 2020
We had a great family outing with Capt. Rich. The boat was a great size for our family of four, with a great upstairs sitting area to look out for dolphins. We went out at 9:30 a.m. and found dozens, maybe hundreds, of dolphins. Then Capt. Rich heard about a rare whale spotting so we went to find it and did. Then we found a pod of bottlenose dolphins before heading back to Mission Bay. Capt. Rich went out of his way to make sure we had a great trip.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!
Ebony_G
, Aug 2020
The Captain was so set on us seeing a whale and he did just that... My friend and I saw 2 year old Blue whale and Dolphins... A lot of Dolphins... Sea Lions... We had the best time in San Diego on that boat... Fiance got called off his leave and had duty but the Captain told us we get a free passenger next time... Definitely coming back...
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Thanks so much for joining us!! Glad you guys had fun!! Looking forward to seeing you all out with us again soon!! -Capt Rich
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Nice Cruise
Anna_P
, Jul 2020
Wish we could seem more but it was exciting seeing what we did! The captain was very friendly and informative!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Everything was awesome
Howard_H
, Jul 2020
Had a fantastic time celebrating a 40th birthday. Saw 4 fin whales including a calf, and a nursery pod of dolphins!
star-5
Probate Whale Watching
Jon_S
, Jun 2020
Captain Rich was very knowledgeable and took us everywhere to find ocean life. While there wasn’t many out he tried his hardest to make sure we had a great time. The seats up top were a blast!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Private Family Whale & Dolphin Adventure
Private Family Whale & Dolphin Adventure

star-539

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-4.518

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$51.21

star-52

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$125.28

star-54

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$190.00

star-5742

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-51

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$168.20

star-5453

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.90

star-00

3 days

Free Cancellation

From
$342.20

star-5194

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$52.00

Explore Similar Things to Do